top of page
oroboru

Anti-Gnosis Systems, Activated!

As time goes on, more and more fantastic series of yesteryear get forgotten. It's particularly sad for me, as out of mind also means no more Character Goods, despite how deserving the designs/character might be. One such game is Xenosaga, and if I understand my gaming history, these games were made by ex-Square Soft members who worked on Xenogears, and eventually went to work on Xenoblade for the Nintendo systems.


Xenosaga 3 introduced us to the antithesis of KOS-MOS, T-ELOS, who basically dismembered our heroine, necessitating her upgrade to the all power 4.0 body. If that doesn't nothing for you, think dark skinned chick in futuristic Purple dominatrix gear.


This was waaaaaay back in 2008, and Alter produced a set of 1/8 statues of the two. Never did get T-ELOS despite her being cheaper than KOS-MOS, but my love was for the true vessel of Mary Magdalene only. Looking back, I think I should have, as when you compare how much merch KOS-MOS got compared to T-ELOS, it's incredibly lopsided.


Fast forward to 2024, and I was able to find one being sold off, loose, but certainly far cheaper than the current aftermarket pricing.

An incredibly simple, but elegant pose. First thing, however, was I needed to get rid the PVC lean, which in this case not only resulted in a tilt, but also a twist. It's not quite perfect but it'll do, though mental note next time don't let the figure touch the actual pot that was used to heat up the water, or at least immediately after heating.


T-ELOS is sculpted basically standing there, looking serene, ye menacing at the same time. Her Figma came with a gun, but I'll admit I can't remember if she ever shot me (KOS-MOS came with her trademark Gattling Guns). The base is a hexagonal shape, which mimics some of the battle fields. I THINK the bases for KOS-MOS and T-ELOS interconnect, though I'm too lazy to dig mine out to try.

T-ELOS looks very much like KOS-MOS as she's based on one of her earlier designs. Hair style isn't as dynamic looking, instead being again, relatively simple. Battle gear effectively mirrors what KOS-MOS has, including the fancy headgear and the lingerie style armour, though being the bad girl she's a bit more revealing and I doubt she even cares if you look.

Some shots of the general views one enjoys while in her presence. KOS-MOS is definitely muc more conservatively dressed - even her swimsuit isn't this revealing. Neither of them are particularly curvy, but the way the costumes look and they way they carry themselves have endeared the characters to me.

Now the funny thing is that Alter was probably at the top of the game back in the day. I don't know if they're still around now, but if I wanted a really good scale statue, I would put my utmost trust into an Alter product. In fact, I don't even think the license was granted to any other company.


Then, we get things like what we see above.


I also noticed that while the Paint and Decal work is very good, it's still got some errors, almost like they assigned a different team to do T-ELOS versus KOS-MOS. At least both statues shared one particular quality, and that is that there were no issues with poor sanding or other factors that may result in unwanted visual artefacts.


Ah well. still happy I found her for a bargain.


For Full Gallery, please visit:



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page