top of page
oroboru

Birds Eye View

A few months ago, I finally got my hands on one of the Bishoujo Wonder Woman statues. It was OK, but ultimately the Shunya Yamashita design plus the Kotobukiya sculpting didn't quite agree with me and so I passed it onto another collector and kept my eyes open for a larger scale statue representation. Now, because I don't have Sideshow money (or space), I had my fingers crossed that I'd eventually run into one of the Japanese pieces and sure enough, about two weeks ago, I answered a Classified Ad for exactly just that.

While there's been a few Japanese companies taking a stab at a Wonder Woman at the 1/6 scale, it's pretty much been Kotobukiya's game to lose. They've done both comic and DCEU versions which all look pretty good. This particular piece is part of their Comic Justice League line up. I have no clue who the artist is for this one, but I think it's safe to say that the art on the box isn't what inspired this particular product.

A very different Wonder Woman, this one actually has some mass to her body, which is something the Bishoujo was sorely lacking. Nice build on the arms and legs alongside some respectable curves. The unfortunate part is that we can't really see this chiseled physique from the back as the giant sculpted cape in the way. There's some nice detailing on the said cape, along with other areas of finer detailing such as the fabric folds on her top, boots, the Broach on her cape, and the hair. Even the hands clutching the cape are nicely done. The Lasso of Truth, on the other hand, looks pretty rough.

The base is a Wonder Woman symbol and the funny thing is that this giant base actually causes the footprint of the statue to be ridiculously large.

Face sculpt features some sharp and angular facial details, befitting of the character. Eyes look a bit whack, with pupils that are a tad too big, which gives her this adorable Puppy Eye look... which as you can imagine isn't exactly befitting of a warrior.

Paint Application wise, the Bishoujo line is pretty sharp, and this continues the trend except with a larger budget. I would say the only unpainted surfaces would technically be the Blue waistcloth and the cape, though the cape has some shading to break up the pure red finish and the waist cloth of course has the stars on it. Having painted flesh tone all over the body not only helps with the sheen, but separates this release from from many other 1/6 Wonder Woman statues, particularly earlier ones that didn't bother to paint this .

Build Quality wise, there's really not a whole lot to talk about. That doesn't mean there's nothing, though. One of my biggest pet peeves about statues makes an appearance here, and that is mold lines. I mean, on a figure it might be unavoidable depending on how the figure is assembled, but on a statue that is fully painted, you'd think that the could spend the extra 5 minutes and get rid the giant surgical scar that runs the entire length of the left thigh, as well as some lines that run the arms, and that's just me casually looking. I'm almost confident if I tried harder, I'd probably find them all over the final product. Otherwise, the plastic materials used are of modern quality, meaning stiff enough to capture relevant detailing and not have leaning issues.

Overall, a pretty nice piece. It's not priced to be a high end art piece, but at the same time you can make out some artefacts that really highlight the fact that this was a mass produced piece. Overall, a piece best suited for the lover of stoic poses with ample desk space.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page