top of page
oroboru

Charge, Dun Stallion!


A few days before the New Year, Canada Post made a delivery to me. The contents - the very much delayed Nendoroid 1532-DX, Lancer Artoria Pendragon from Fate/Grand Order.


I've actually wanted some sort of figure for this particular Artoria iteration for quite some time. I didn't really have any room for that beautiful 1/8 scale PVC of Lancer Artoria on Dun Stallion, so something smaller was always the goal. I preordered the Nendoroid waaaaaay back in December 2020 through the Goodsmile US website, figuring that it would about the same as if I preordered it from Japan, as it was pretty much DHL only . I think at the $82 USD I paid,, things worked out quite well. I just figured after years of teasing, I'd have both the Nendoroid and the Figma by now.

Like all other Nendoroids, Lancer Artoria comes with a decent selection of chibified parts:


- 1 x Figure

- 3 x Face Plates (Neutral, Shouting, Embarassed)

- 1 x Holy Lance Rhongomyniad

- 1 x Holy Lance Rhongomyniad w/Attacking Aura Effect

- 1 x Dun Stallion

- 2 x Bent Arms

- 1 x Chest Covering Arm

- 2 x Weapon Holding Hands

- 1 x Expanded Nendoroid Base and Stand


There is apparently a version without Dun Stallion, which retailed for 2,000 Yen less than this version, but you don't get Dun Stallion and slew of other parts.

Artoria is not a full action Nendoroid body, but rather is a hybrid, with fixed posed arms. She is botht he usual adorableness that is a Nendoroid, and yet at the same time is probably one of the bustiest, if not THE bustiest, Nendoroids made, though I'll need to do a deep dive on the Queen's Blade stuff one day just to make sure. Parts of her outfit are articulated as well, namely the two blue panels at her hip, and her cape - not a lot, but enough to move out of the way of limbs. I suspect that due to the non standard body design, specifically of the upper body, it feels like the neck joint isn't reaching as deep as it could, as the head on mine falls off easy. That, or I lost the QC game again.

Dun Stallion, her noble steed, also features some decent articulation (for a Nendoroid) with all limbs articulated, as well as a rotating tail. The fabric reins are also a nice touch. Dun Stallion is a touch bulkier than the other Nendoroid steeds I own on account of his armour, to the point where you need to remove the saddle to reveal a slimmer saddle that can accommodate the figure sitting down.

Articulation is very limited, which is really by design. You're mainly getting standing and riding poses, with a bit more display options present should you actually use the stand, particularly in conjunction with Dun Stallion.

There's one dedicated right arm that used for this pose, which I guess could go with any of the face plates, really works best with this to result in in "Who, Me?" type of look.

Paint and Build wise, rock solid Goodsmile product, with the exception of the head falling of easily. The hair and crown turned out beautifully, and looks very distinct. I know it's not say ing much, but this is probably some of the most dynamic and detailed looking Nendoroid hair I've seen, or at least amongst my figures. The effects on Rhongomyniad are niccely done, a combination of translucent plastics and a pearl blue on the lance itself.

A visually distinct piece, and a bit more "mature" looking than your run of the mill Nendoroid. While it's not quite the Figma, it is a good start, and I can only hope that when the Figma is finally released, there will also be a Deluxe version that comes with Dun Stallion because, let it be known, I will throw down for that. For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page