top of page
oroboru

Eternal Pegwarmers

Every MCU viewer remembers The Eternals, the first major flop of the MCU in the latest phase, but had high viewership due to its relatively quick move to standard Disney+ offerings. I felt it was a misfire. Can't remember the name of the director, but I remember she directed dramatic films and got her stuff banned in China. Eternals was certainly dramatic and relatively huge in scale, but I feel the viewers weren't quite ready for a character driven comic book movie.


As always, SH Figuarts made some figures, but the problem is they only got the about half of the cast (Ikaris, Kingo, Sersi) but I guess saw the writing on the wall and didn't release any others, including Thena and Gilgamesh, the latter of which I would have loved (who doesn't want a mini Don Lee in their collection?!).


The figures that were released eventually went on fire sale, and through that mechanism I too, ended up with one of them, Sersi.

Like with the Captain Marvel I just looked at, this overview isn't going to sell you on this figure because people generally only buy things from IPs they adore. Having said that, these are CHEAP, so that alone might do the job and convert people. I've seen prices anywhere between $20 - $40 CAD. I believe MSRP was around the $80 CAD mark. As this was a lower MSRP, you're not so much getting fewer parts as opposed to getting just the needed parts, which I guess in this case is really an extra Powered Up mode face and two stabbing sticks. I.. can't remember what her powers are, nor do I care to do the research.

Out of the box you can probably make out the base Figuarts body, but at the same time thanks to the costume design this figure it looks a tad bulky, but very elegant. I to say that is very much the aesthetic of all the main characters in the movie, and it's nice to see that it got captured and made its way into figure form - I'm not sure if the Legends turned out this smooth looking. I would say from a silhouette perspective, things look pretty accurate with the exception of bust line.

From a likeness perspective, I'd say that this is one of their stronger ones. The face might a tad too wide at the cheeks, but I'd say this does a pretty good job at representing Gemma Chan, the actor. The Powered Up face doesn't really have that drastically different of an expression.


From an Articulation perspective, it's pretty much what you're expect from a Figuart figure, with the limitations that the shirt puts on poses. No pull down hips or any other fancy tricks so it's likely going to be standing poses for most people that own this. As mentioned, I really don't remember any specific poses for her, nor are sticks the most imposing of weapons. You know you're not really expecting much in this area when even the product promo shots are.. pretty boring. Upper body articulation is better than the lower body, of course, in the sense that you can access the full range of movement allotted. Bulk of the hair also affects posing of of the head.

Paint Application wise, the Digital Painting on the face is pretty good, but perhaps the bigger win here is that compared to other figures, Sersei actually has some really good paint coverage. My gut tells me that the only part not actually not truly painted are the hands and the joints. Everything else features a consistent Emerald Green with the silver glyphs. There's also some colour blending. Overall, it's just a very pleasant figure to look at.

Build Quality is not an issue with this figure. The build itself is rock solid, and there's really no fancy parts or anything delicate here. No obvious poor finishes or discrepancies with regard to limb length. The weapons actually fit into the hands that are designated for them. No concerns with regards to fatigue or other issues that can cause a figure to fall apart.

So overall, a solid Figuarts release, just not particularly exciting nor is it from an IP that people actually look upon fondly, though I feel people like The Eternals more than The Marvels. Considering I already started, I think I might as well try to get the rest of the released ones, but I can tell you that Ikaris is at the very bottom of my list - at least Kingo had a personality.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page