top of page
oroboru

FALCON PUNCH!


Over the Family Day 2023 weekend, I travelled to Buffalo, NY to visit a teeny tiny baby, and while I was there I ended up, for the first time in about a decade, actually going into Walden Galleria, the swankiest mall in the area. Take my word, while it is a very comfortable mall to go and visit, the competition isn't exactly strong for the title.


Whilst I was there, I actually stumbled upon a clearance sale that was happening at Gamestop, and while I struggled to find my second, free item, my first item was clear - it was this lovely Kotobukiya ArtFX Premier 1/10 Captain Marvel statue.

Kotobukiya has MANY statue lines, even at the same scale. The ArtFX is generally the higher grade ones, and I'm going to presume that Premier is an ultra fancy line up. I mean, the oval thing is a tag proclaiming that this is 990/2000. I looks to me that Kotobukiya tried harder when making this piece, something that will evident when the statue is fully assembled.



So, the MSRP on this piece is pretty high considering the size, and I'm pretty sure much of went towards actually making this statue exciting. For starters, you'll notice that Captain Marvel isn't just standing there, which isn't limited to a 1/10, but a smaller statue certainly makes it easier to create a structurally stable statue.

The statue is basically made up of four pieces, with the middle piece supporting the main figure, and connecting to the other two pieces that make up the base. The base itself is quite nice, some sort of rock formations that are paint apps on top of a translucent Orange plastic.

The good Captain connects to the base by balancing on a peg embedded in her right shin.

The actual Captain Marvel statue itself is crammed full of nice sculpting details. You can see it on the various fabric folds and creases. She's definitely not overly curvy like something you'd get for a Bishoujo, which is of course not the intent of this product, but she's feminine enough that I'd believe that this was a former Fighter Jet Pilot. The familiar Captain Marvel emblem on the chest, along with the sash around her waist, complete with its on emblem. Detailing on the hair is adequate, and the face isn't too bad either. They were clearly going for a comic aesthetic, and I feel that was delivered perfectly.


Paint Application is an interesting one. The actual paint work is pretty nice, with high gloss Red used and the rest is basically Matte. The interesting part is that only two surfaces that don't really count as being painted. The sash appears to be base Red, but it does have quite a bit of the shading use to highlight contours, which is even present on the main body itself. But for some odd reason, there is no flesh tone whatsoever, which isn't something I'd have expected in a statue of this price point.


As for Build Quality, again, those damn mold lines are present, which after layers of paint are still present so they're not just minor marks,


An interesting statue, but under normal circumstances (MSRP) it's not even one I'd consider as for that price there are generally much more interesting pieces that I could get.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page