top of page
oroboru

"Let me tell you, BROTHER...."


Rounding up the Montreal Figma pick ups, it's... this character. Millihoire F. Biscotti from the anime Dog Days. According the Internet, she's the beloved Princess of the Biscotti Kingdom, who summons help from Earth to help her country defeat their enemies in a war of sporting events.


Now you know as much as I do.


As usual, it was the price that attracted me - I can't really say "No" to a $12 Figma, regardless of what the property is. The figure originally retailed for about 3,400 Yen back in 2012, which would have been about average for back in the day. Contents aren't mindblowing, but it seems about what I'd expect:


- 1 x Main Figure

- 3 x Face Plates (Happy, Smiling, errr.. Disappointed?)

- 10 x Posing/Gripping Hands

- 2 x Alternate Ear Parts

- 1 x Wrist Glyph Thing

- 1 x Microphone

- 1 x Figma Stand

The figure uses the Figma 1.0 body, and it's not too far off the mark of the official art work. The only thing that stands out for me is that face should be a bit longer, which would allow for larger eyes. Otherwise, your part dog, part human princess made the transition intact. I think that the white could have been a bit brighter, and I'm pretty sure it's not age or anything degradation of the colouring itself.


Detailing on the outfit is about right, as both the source art and this type of dress in general doesn't require the crazy amounts of detailing that I saw on Sakura. I think that perhaps the figure could have benefitted from a bit more work on the tail and hair?

Being a Figma 1.0, the articulation is functional, with the usual limitations due to age of technology, though it's worth noting her tail and ribbons on the back of her head feature points of articulation. Adding the usual pains of the the wrists is the fact that she too wears a "Cone of Shame" known as a dress. So you're really limited in what you can do with this figure dynamically, You also don't have a lot of accessories to work with, so in general you're gonna have to get real creative beyond your typical standing poses

Paint wise, not exactly some of Goodsmile's greatest work, but I guess you can call it above average as things go. Decals on the face are sharp as always, as are the base paint applications. But the detailing paint applications, most notable being the red striping, is a bit weaker than I'd like. There's examples of paint bleeding and poor masking, resulting in some not so crisp looking crooked lines, especially on her vest and skirt.

Build Quality wise, there's the usual warnings about the wrist pegs. You might also notice that the antenna on the end of the microphone looks pretty fragile, and feels pretty fragile as well. Her Ahoge is actually quite sturdy, and is helped by the fact the plastic for the hair is soft. Everything else is nice and sturdy, as it should be.

So in the end, it's not a bad Figma perse, it's just not a very exciting one. Or at least, not for someone like me. From a character design perspective, definitely something a big different, as I can't say I have too many anime/human hybrids on my shelf. Probably a very good fit if you've got a collection of magical girl type figures. For me though, I think her main rival is probably a better fit.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page