top of page
oroboru

MOTU Revelation: Evil Lyn



So.... busy week and all that stuff. Took a bit of a break between work and the next steps of a model kit to open this up - Evil Lyn from Wave One of the MOTU Revelation releases, which mercifully have finally started to ship in Canada. I never really watched the 80s show, never even knew when the 90s sequel was on, and caught bits and pieces of the 2000s series. So it's safe to say I really am not a die hard like many of the other fans. I did, however, watch Revelation, and had to say within one episode, I knew there would be a shitstorm when it came to complaints. Sure enough, the Facebook pages did not disappoint, nor have they ever failed to entertain me. Considering the series is only half way through its first season, I'm personally excited to see where things go from here. But hey, I don't need some moustached dude wearing a pot on his dead force feeding me life lessons at the end of every episode. Unlike She-Ra, this Netflix series actually got figures. I got a good feeling from the promo images and spoiler alert - I was not disappointed.

Inside of the nicely decorated box are a decent number of accessories for a figure that retails for $29.99 CAD at EB Games/Gamestop Canada - of course, there's no BAF piece to eat up budget, but I'm gonna say it's only a matter of time before they do that sort of thing.


- 1 X Main Figure

- 1 X Alternate Head (No Headdress)

- 6 X Hands (Fists, Palms, Weapon Grip) - 1 x Shorten Staff

- 1 X Long Staff

- 1 X Shoulder Bag

Now, without looking too hard I'm pretty confident that colour wise the figure is probably close, but it's missing the extra accuracy that actually having paint/not being colour blind can bring.. that and a proper layer of top coat. But from a silhouette perspective, sculptors did pretty good,, as well as overall appearance - especially the head sculpt.


Fine detailing isn't bad, and seems a bit less crude than efforts from Hasbro... probably a match with the detailing on the McFarlane DC stuff I've seen. Most evident are the details in her fur collar and the fabric detailing.


It's great that the arms come pretty close to the body and the legs can come together, as this helps to make standing poses look more natural.

I'm also happy that they made her pretty jacked, a style which I believe I saw on the Teela figure as well. The real question is will there be any modifications to torso/leg shape, or will they, like the other toys, effectively be clones.

I guess with there being more and more competition at this size and price point, the quality of the figures in terms of articulation generally got better. It's still a mass produced Mattel figure, but honestly you've pretty much got the makings of a relatively high end figure, albeit with uglier looking joints.


You get ankles, double jointed knees, thigh twist, waist, mid torso, standard shoulders, bicep swivel, double jointed elbows, wrist swivel/pivot, and neck. About the only things missing are true neck movement and butterfly joints to allow the arms to collapse, but for the purposes of Evil Lyn and her incantation type poses, you're gonna do just fine.


Knee and elbow joints appear to utilize a locking mechanism, so you're only able to pose them in those particular slots.

The exchange of the standard head with the long haired one both does and doesn't affect range of motion. Now, I'm not exactly sure if this was a design thing, or perhaps the need for budget cuts resulted in the use of softer plastics, but whatever the case is, you'll find long dangly bit extremely pliable.

As I said earlier, you're gonna do just fine.

There isn't that much actual paint on the figure, something that is pretty typical with mass release figures like this. I guess it's lucky that her colour palette is relatively simple and that Mattel threw down for sufficient base coloured plastics to make this work. The few paint apps on the figure were applied decently, with very minor bleeding issues and a smooth texture. Work on the two portraits was handled quite well.

Finally there's Build Quality. It's not gonna be Import Figure materials - what was nice, however is that I didn't have to give Evil Lyn a hot water bath for fear of snapping her limbs. Unlike some of the Hasbro stuff I've handled, the actual Knee and Elbow joints are not made of the flimsiest plastic known to man, so flimsy that they're already warped out the package. Poses hold well, and while there's some rough spots, overall cleaning of the plastic parts was done quite well.

For the asking price, I feel that Evil Lyn turned out quite well. To me, this general above average nature of the $30 CAD price point figure is kind of like back in the day when car companies were trying to compete with each other in the sub $30K price point. Every major company had an entry, but you could tell which cars were maximizing profit, as opposed to design with a profit margin in mind.


I look forward to the Teela preorder, as well as any of the other ladies that may show up (here's looking at your, Sorceress). None of the male characters particularly appeal to me, though I may dive in if they give HeMan some crazy ass armour power up.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page