top of page
oroboru

New Year, New Line....


Usually, the new Transformers toy line debuts around Christmas time, but I'm guessing due to COVID related logistics issues, figures for the new Legacy line have only started to show up at my local Walmart locations... I'm going to say early May 2022? Amazon preorders weren't even going to ship until July 2022, yet I'm already seeing collectors in Asia getting stuff 2, 3 waves ahead of us?


Most of Wave One didn't exactly thrill me, save one - Prime Arcee, and I happened to come across one a few days ago. So home she same with me, and Amazon lost a preorder.

Like Siege and Kingdom, the Legacy line brings characters from across the Transformers multiverse and gives them modern toys. So far, there's no real clear logic with regards to the character selection, which makes it easier for me to be selective, I guess.


What is also new is the Hasbro approach to packaging. You read stories about it, but nothing really prepares you for when you pick up a $36 CAD toy in a box that does not feature any sort plastic window. I can't remember the rationale behind this, but if it's cost cutting, man they're scraping the bottom of the barrel for ideas at this point, and probably annoys the hell out of the MIB collectors as the frame around the actual opening appears to be quite susceptible to damage, especially if, say, Amazon decides to throw it into a bubble envelop or something.

Unless you're a Masterpiece level figure, chances are that your Deluxe sized figure really doesn't come with much beyond the actual figure. Such is the case with Arcee here, who comes with the figure, the front wheel of the Cycle mode and the front windshield/head lights (both come off), as well as that blue Energon weapon. For whatever reason, Hasbro didn't give this figure her trademark dual pistols or, at the very least, dual blades.

Instead, what we get is the front wheel spitting open to form this... thing. I mean I guess it's a gun, but at the same time you know and I know it's just Hasbro using that part for something. I'm not entirely certain if they designed the figure to have those removable parts due to possible breakage, as removing them doesn't actually make the transformation any simplier.

The theme of this release is "OK". In terms of screen accuracy, clearly the First Edition Prime figure of Arcee is better than this one. As far as being a new creation, it's fascinating to me that despite being bulker than the original toy, it actually has slightly less articulation, specifically a waist joint


Detailing isn't bad, and it appears that some effort was put into making the various panels and parts look interesting. This detailing shows up in both the robot and the vehicle modes.


Paint wise, I guess I can take some comfort in knowing that collectors all over the world will get the same adequate paint coverage that we got here in Canada. The amount of paint present is alright, but as always there could be more - some of the missing paint apps are baffling, to be honest. For example, why didn't they at least paint the brake disc on the rear wheel? Who knows.. maybe Takara will release some Premium finish version of this figure at some point in the future.


Build quality wise is actually pretty good. Biggest flaw, at least on mine, is that the right arm keeps coming off its joint. Plastics selection feels appropriate for durability as well as the sharpness of the detailing. Finishes on the parts are smooth, with no obvious flash lines or other artifacts of the production process.

Finally we have vehicle mode. Transformation is effectively what I'd expect from a modern Deluxe in that it's not long a simple fold and tuck. Being a motorcycle, there's even more work required to create an alt form that doesn't appear to be a two wheeled brick. Doesn't blow my mind, but it's a functional mode. I do wish, however, that they had made the mode easier to balance, as mine tends to flop onto the side WITHOUT the kickstand, so I have to underdeploy it in order to get the thing to balance correctly.


Like I said - overall, it's alright.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page