top of page
oroboru

Not That Super....


Back to smaller items, starting with this one that was purchased during the Black Friday 2022 season, the Super 7 Ultimates - Cheetara figure. For all you Super 7 fans out there, I'm sorry, but this is gonna be short and brutal.


With the exception of the packaging, there is pretty much nothing about this figure that would warrant the $55 USD price point, ESPECIALLY for Cheetara, whom I've read is probably the weakest of the entire Thundercats line up.

Like I said - packaging is quite nice. Clean, not overly fancy but attractive. I especially enjoy the art on the back of the box. I'm not familiar enough to know whether or not that's a custom piece or something taken from a comic book - I do know it's not from the 80s show.

Here's where things go down hill Paint work is overall pretty crude, and doesn't come close to the quality promised by the prototype. Body sculpt isn't exactly what one pictures when the sleek and sexy Cheetara comes to mind, but that's on me.


With that silhouette, I guess you could say she's looking more accurate to something out of the 80s.

Articulation isn't that great, and the range of motion effectively leaves your figures looking pretty stiff, which generally isn't horrible if you weren't trying to market your figure as being top of the line. Effect parts like the flames and hair help convey some sense of dynamic motion, but.. yeah.

Build Quality is alright. The figure doesn't fall apart or anything, but it's not like they were taking any risks, or have raised the bar in terms of figure construction. Fists connected to the wrist pegs, however, are generally reserved for more mainline figures, so again, product not exactly reflective of the price point.

That pretty much sums up my thoughts. Yes, I do have higher expectations of figures because of my exposure to Japanese, things, but at the same time come on.. I've seen better stuff out of the NECA for the same price.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page