top of page
oroboru

She Bangs!


You win some, you lose some.


A few months ago, Popcultcha, a store in Australia, was having a clearance sale, and so I took a look at the site. I don't get mail from that side of the world very often, so I figure I'd do the Australian Postal Service a favour and give them something to bring me. Spending AUD is actually pretty straight forward for me, as the exchange rate to CAD is effectively 1 to 1.


After browsing, I came across one particular item - a 1/6 scale resin Black Widow statue from a company named Ikon Collectables. Now I'm not familiar with the statue world, particularly non Japanese ones, and web search for this particular item didn't show anything. Then, coupled with the fact it was half off, with discount, coming in at about $100 AUD, which is ridiculously cheap for a 1/6 resin yet still having stock, made me mentally prepared for the worst case scenario.


Delivery, for whatever reason, was also delayed, with the postal service sitting on it for like a month before it finally moved. This added to the ominous feeling I had.


Well, the statue finally arrived, and I certainly wasn't disappointed.


Presenting, probably the roughest looking thing to come out of Australia, and this is after seeing their terrifying Spiders.

Like I said, Australian through and through.


Now the prototype doesn't look particularly dynamic or anything, but it looks pleasant enough.. I mean, with the right lighting, maybe some of the more subtle details of the statue will come out nicely in a display.

From a good 4 - 5 ft. away, the statue looks alright. Pretty much like what the photos promised. Decent colouring, maybe slight changes from prototype, which is expected when they mass manufacture things. Of course, I like to go a bit closer with my photos.....


At this distance, you can already see the cracks in the armour forming. You can see the crude sculpting work. Pretty rough looking paint even at this distance, something I wouldn't expect for a statue that has a limited run of 300.

Going closer basically verifies my belief that this just happens to be a licensed Chinese knock off You can probably imagine the rest yourself.

.I think that should cover it... any questions?


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page