top of page
oroboru

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star...


FINALLY... the light at the end of the Dragonball tunnel. All caught up until the Super Hero figures show up, which may take a while seeing how I had to order mine from Spain. Oh well,.. at least they're ordered. THIS IS the recent Event Exclusive colour version of the the Dragonball Super Kaio-Ken Goku figure.

Funny thing, these Event Exclusive art boxes. It's like they spent all their budget on making the figure itself look pretty, so you just add a Snapchat filter to the original box cover art and call it a day.

So from what I can gather, this figure is based on the Event Exclusive Ultra Instinct Goku from 2020 - I can from what I can gather because I never actually opened mine and gave it to my Nephew so he could give it to my brother for Father's Day. Gotta love one year olds. That particular Goku figure was highly sought after as it was the first time he was featured with a body wearing that particular get up - you gotta love completists. I still remember people getting all huffy because they couldn't get one of the first ones... and then they released like two more batches of them or something like that. So this figure does what everyone else probably did with theirs, and swapped out the normal Goku head for one of a SSGSS Goku, with some standard face plates for that Goku. What really made me interested in getting this figure was the fact colours were tweaked to give Goku that glowing apperance, which meant translucent blue hair, slightly darker colours overall, and a pearl top coat. To finish it off, they even included an aura effect, much like the normal Kaio-Ken Goku. So basically, they recycled a whole bunch of parts, slapped on some new paint, and charged you $60 USD for the privileges' of buying one.


I don't get why they couldn't have recycled the Kamehameha effect from Vegeito 2.0 .... *sigh*

From a technical perspective, it doesn't really bring anything new to the table, unless you're into figures with tiny knee joints - credit given where credit is due, at least Tamshii lined up the knee joints correctly, Of course, I think they already did this when they made that Super Saiyan Awakening Goku figure.

This Goku is a real sharp looking piece - visually distinct from all the other Goku figures I've seen thanks to the finish and that translucent blue hair. I do believe that it is the base plastic colour doing most of the heavy lifting, as always, with little details painted as needed.

Colours on the aura have been tweaked, I imagine to match the show aesthetic, showing a SSGSS aura enhanced by the effects of the Kaio-Ken effect.


Build wise, it's the usual solid Figuarts quality.

I personally don't have that many Goku figures, so a purchase of something this visually distinct seemed reasonable. If I actually owned the Ultra Instinct version, though, I'd probably have skipped this as I could have stuck the head from my SSGSS Goku on this and saved myself $60 USD. I suppose there's the aura to consider, but lets be honest it's not exactly the most impressive effect they could have included with this figure. The good news is that I'm guessing it's easier to find this particular ensemble now, thanks to the release of this figure, but the finish on it may not work well with the head you decide to pair with it due to the pearl finish.


Oh well - can't win them all.


For Full Gallery, please visit:

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page