top of page
oroboru

Unleash the Black Widows....

Updated: Oct 21, 2023




Well it's been a while - I've been MIA for a week, and right before that, Wix decided to crap out and not let me modify my photographs. But I'm back, and since there's no point rushing to finish my previous post, I figured, why not something fresh? So, I'm generally not impressed with Hot Toys women. I mean, don't get me wrong, they're not bad, but ultimately for a figure that is supposed to as accurate and picture perfect as possible (within reason, of course) they generally miss the mark.. by a lot. Being a predominately Scarlett Johansson Black Widow collector, I've had years to make notes and think about what exactly I would do if I had the chance. Kitbashing is generally not been kind to me, because generally speaking you can't just slap Hot Toys parts onto a Phicen body, and even if you could, Phicen bodies are generally bust focused, and don't have anything even remotely resembling the necessary curves. Then one day, I learned about Worldbox AT202 bodies, which while were a bit too curvy, were still better than the boyish hips of the standard Hot Toy body, and the AT201 just didn't do it for me. Over the course of about 6 months, I acquired various suits and parts to effectively make three prototypes, with the Snowsuit coming out as the best one. I also learned first hand just how fragile Hot Toys parts can be. I was also able to get duplicates of various Hot Toy Black Widow heads, including a much coveted Civil War head, which to me, has the strongest resembled to the actor herself. The heads were rerooted with organic fibers, which are a vast improvement over the synthetics of the standard releases. It just so happened the artist who was handling all this lived along my drive to Washington DC, so I figured it'd be a good opportunity to pick some of things up. Anyway, I'll be slapping heads on bodies for the next little while, but I started with the best body combined with the best head, which is basically the combination you see here. Of course I took a few more pics to show the overall project and that she's actually able to pose.

Other bodies will be mated with the other heads, and I'm excited to see how well the rooting came out, and also if my artist vision will come true.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page